

Kansas City

Legislation Text

File #: 230956, Version: 1

RESOLUTION NO. 230956

Sponsor: Mayor Pro Tem Ryana Parks-Shaw

RESOLUTION - Recognizing Municipal Arts Commission Commissioners.

WHEREAS, Current Municipal Arts Commissioners have volunteered their time since January of 2020, actively meeting every first Friday of the month, at 9:00 a.m., to serve as a catalyst for artistic growth and aesthetic excellence in our communities; and

WHEREAS, Current Commissioners wrote, developed, and adopted the first Bylaws of the Municipal Arts Commission. Included were a panel review and input from MAC on multiple projects such as MCI, Streetcar, Benton Boulevard Bridge, Brush Creek Heritage Trail, et al; development of Sub-Committees for DEIA, bylaws and legislative as needed; development and adoption of Accession/Deaccession Policies; and

WHEREAS, current Commissioners innovated and implemented a selection process for the largest public art project in the City's history, art at the new KCI airport, based on the foundational values of diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility and community involvement, where 75% of selected artists at the new KCI are KC based/affiliated artists, 75% of the featured artists are women and people of color. This method of selection is ongoing for future projects; and

WHEREAS, for the fruition of art at the new KCI airport, current Commissioners created multiple selection panels, which comprised of artists, arts and cultural leaders, project advisory artists, aviation officials, architects, and community stakeholders. Commissioners found that representation matters both on selection panels, on commissions, committees, composition of our Boards, and leaders of our institutions; and

WHEREAS, with the current Commissioners' involvement, the new KCI airport has become a new art museum within this city that reflects and reveals the character, cultures, experiences, and values of a community. Ultimately, 28 artists were commissioned into its permanent collection; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF KANSAS CITY:

That the Mayor and Council hereby recognize the Municipal Arts Commission Commissioners; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution be spread upon the Minutes of the Council in testimony thereof and that a copy hereof be presented to Jack Holland, Carlota (Lotti) Halpern, Celia Ruiz, Christel Highland, Christy Cubbage, David Wayne Reed, Hector Casanova, Jen DeMeyer, Kaitlyn Bunch, Kreshaun McKinney, Mary Sedeno-Brain, Stephenie Smith, Tyler Enders, Tyrone Aiken and Meghan Lewis with the appreciation of the Mayor and Council for the Municipal Art Commissioners in their team effort and commitment to a diverse, inclusive, and accessible public art.

File #: 230956, Version: 1	