

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	2402	288	Version	n: 1	Name:			
Туре:	Spe	cial Action	1		Status:	Passed		
File created:	2/13	8/2024			In control:	Council		
On agenda:	3/7/2	2024			Final action:	3/7/2024		
Title:	Spo	Sponsor: Councilmember Kevin O'Neill						
	RESOLUTION - Recognizing the 50th anniversary of Kansas City's St. Patrick's Day Parade.							
Sponsors:	Kevin O'Neill, Andrea Bough, Melissa Robinson, Ryana Parks-Shaw, Eric Bunch, Wes Rogers, Johnathan Duncan, Darrell Curls							
Indexes:								
Code sections:								
Attachments:	1. Authenticated Resolution 240288							
Date	Ver.	Action By	1		Act	ion	Result	
3/7/2024	1	Council			Ad	opted	Pass	
			DEC					

RESOLUTION ORDINANCE NO. 240288

Sponsor: Councilmember Kevin O'Neill

RESOLUTION - Recognizing the 50th anniversary of Kansas City's St. Patrick's Day Parade.

WHEREAS, the Kansas City St. Patrick's Day Parade Committee is preparing to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the big parade on Sunday, March 17, 2024; and

WHEREAS, March 17th is the feast day of Ireland's patron saint and a day celebrated throughout the world by Irish and non-Irish, alike; and

WHEREAS, the legendary radio personality, Mike Murphy, along with his pals Dan Hogerty, Pat O'Neill, Jim Lynch, and Cy Perkins, led the first St. Patrick's Day parade in modern Kansas City history in 1974; and

WHEREAS, today the parade organizing committee is ably led by senior co-chair, Vanessa Prewitt, and junior co-chair, Jean Dalrymple; and

WHEREAS, everyone, of every cultural background is invited to view and enjoy the parade as it moves down Broadway from Linwood to 43rd Street, beginning at 11:00 a.m. on Sunday, March 17th; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF KANSAS CITY:

That the Mayor and City Council recognize and congratulate the founders and organizers of Kansas City's nationally known St. Patrick's Day Parade; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution be spread upon the Minutes of the Council in testimony thereof and that a copy hereof be presented to the 2024 co-chairs, Vanessa Prewitt and Jean Dalrymple, with the appreciation of the Mayor, Council and citizens of Kansas City.